Eastern Connecticut State University Knowledgebase

Add Users to a Blackboard Course

Article ID: 487
Last updated: 02 Dec, 2020

This article covers instructions for single user enrollment and bulk enrollments for courses and organizations in Blackboard.

Single User Enrollment 

Blackboard allows an instructor to add other users to their course who are not automatically added by registration.

  1. Log into your course.
  2. Expand the Users and Groups section on the Control Panel.
  3. Select Users
  4. Click Find Users to Enroll on the action bar, above the Search tool at the top the list of Users.
  5. Type the exact username in the username field on the Add Enrollments screen. If you don't know it, you can leave this blank and click the Browse Button to search for users, but only only students can be found this way, not faculty. Exact usernames can be found from the persons email address.
  6. On the resulting popup page, enter the last name of the person you want to search for and Click Go. Only users that are not already enrolled in your course will be identified in a search for users.
  7. Select the checkbox for the user you want to add.
  8. Click Submit.
  9. Select a Role and Enrollment Availability for the users (Description of User Roles).
  10. Click Submit.

Search results display up to 25 names on a page. Searches that result in more than 25 users will display users on multiple pages. You cannot enroll multiple users who appear on different pages. Instead, select users to enroll from a single page and select Submit. Redo the search to select additional users to enroll.

You can't enroll users who have been made Unavailable by your institution or outside users who don't have accounts at Eastern.

The video below shows the process:



Bulk Enrollment

If you have multiple individuals with the same role to add at once, then on the Add Enrolment screen, enroll multiple users using the following format: username,username,username. List the individuals using only their usernames (the beginning portion of their eastern email before the @easternct.edu or @my.easternct.edu). That’s username no space comma no space username no space comma no space username. Then click Submit.


 

What happens if an individual in your bulk list is already enrolled: 

If an individual is already enrolled in the course or organization and they are also listed in the bulk list, your attempt will be nullified and no individuals will be added. You must delete the already enrolled username from the bulk list and perform the steps again.
This article was:  
Article ID: 487
Last updated: 02 Dec, 2020
Revision: 19
Views: 1691
Also listed in